Welcome to Science and Technology Education

We are part of the University of KwaZulu-Natal in the School of Education. Our cluster consists of two main disciplines namely, Science Education, and Technology Education. We offer over 40 modules per semester in Initial Teacher Education, Continuing Education, and Postgraduate programmes. We have 15 permanent staff and a number of intermittent contract staff employed to teach our modules, both at Edgewood and Pietermaritzburg campuses. Our cluster has four senior lecturers, eight lecturers, two developmental lecturers and one senior tutor. Eight of our permanent staff members hold a PhD, while six are currently engaged in PhD studies.

As part of the College of Humanities at UKZN, the School of Educationthe Science and Technology Education cluster is committed to developing the university as a premier institution of African scholarship through teaching, research and community engagement in Science and Technology Education. Our strategic vision and mission emphasizes the intellectual, educational and cultural development of the region by producing quality graduates who are able to promote Life Sciences, Natural Sciences, Physical Sciences and Technology Education, nationally and globally. The staff are committed to democratic values, social justice and responding to the development challenges of Science and Technology Education in South Africa. The cluster offers modules in Initial Teacher Education and Postgraduate programmes. The staff research profile and publications ranges from Indigenous Knowledge, Problem Solving, Curriculum, Gender and Science, Environmental Education, Physics, Biology and Technology Education to the use of ICT in learning and teaching.

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved